June 20 marks Phase 2 of Connecticut's reopening, which includes movie theaters. The Ridgefield Playhouse has announced their plans, which include a family series as well as a Friday night Rock-themed series of films.

The Playhouse has always screened movies in addition to their concerts, which have consistently brought very impressive names to such an intimate venue. Allison Stockel, the Ridgefield Playhouse's Executive Director, said, "We're very happy to have some sort of Summer series - even if it doesn't include live performances yet."

The Playhouse has new policies in place to make sure that patrons are safe, and to comply with State COVID-19 guidelines. The Playhouse is planning on opening at a max of 25 percent capacity, which is about 100 people per show. There will be markings entering the theater so that patrons can remain 6 feet apart. Concessions and drinks will be ordered through an app, and there will be bathroom attendants to limit the number of people in the bathroom at any given time. Tickets will be General Admission, and ushers will seat patrons to ensure social distancing.

Here are the movies being screened in the Family Series:

Wednesday, June 24 at 2:00pm & 7:00pm - Shrek
Wednesday, July 1 at 2:00pm - Lego Movie
Wednesday, July 8 at 2:00pm & 7:00pm - How to Train Your Dragon
Wednesday, July 15 at 2:00pm & 7:00pm - All Dogs Go to Heaven
Wednesday, July 22 at 2:00pm - The Prince of Egypt
Wednesday, July 29 at 2:00pm & 7:00pm - Charlotte’s Web
Wednesday, August 5 at 2:00pm & 7:00pm – The Land Before Time
Wednesday, August 12 at 2:00pm - Shrek 2
Wednesday, August 12 at 7:00pm - Babe 25th Anniversary

And the Rock Series:

Friday, June 26 at 8:30pm - Rocketman
Wednesday, July 1 at 7:00pm - Fathom: Blues Brothers 40th Anniversary
Friday, July 3 at 8:30pm - Bruce Springsteen: Western Stars
Friday, July 10 at 8:30pm - Linda Rondstadt: The Sound of My Voice
Friday, July 17at 8:30pm - Michael Hutchence: Mystify
Friday, July 24 at 8:30pm - Searching for Sugarman
Friday, July 31 at 8:30pm - Echo in the Canyon
Friday, August 7 at 8:30pm - Once Were Brothers: Robbie Robertson and The Band
Friday, August 14 at 8:30pm: Amy (Amy Winehouse Documentary)

There will also be a Classical and Broadway series including shows like Kinky Boots and 42nd Street, and Opera and Shakespeare shows. For more info go to the Ridgefield Playhouse's website.

Enter your number to get our free mobile app